Family Tree

Family Tree

Book - 2007
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2

A loving family, a child on the way, and a secret concealed generations ago that will tear their lives apart... 'The Family Tree' is issue-led women's fiction perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult.

Dana Clarke has it all - a husband, Hugh, who she adores, a beautiful home in a wealthy area, and a baby on the way. But, when her daughter, Lizzie, is born, what should be the happiest day of her life turns out to be the moment that her world falls apart.

Lizzie is beautiful, healthy, and black... Born from two white parents, there are only two possibilities: that a distant relative was of African descent, or that Dana has had an affair.

As the Clarke family reel from the shock, accusations are thrown and soon the trust that Dana and Hugh had prided themselves on is slipping away. So begins a poignant journey to uncover the truth about their past, to discover what legacy their ancestors left them. And, as the stability of the Clarke family is torn apart, the reader is forced to ask how much any one of us really knows about our own identity.

Publisher: New York : Doubleday, c2007.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780007245123
9780385518659
Branch Call Number: FIC DELI
Characteristics: 358 p. ; 25 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

Dana Clarke has always longed for the stability of home and family--her own childhood was not an easy one. Now she has married a man she adores who is from a prominent New England family, and she is about to give birth to their first child. But what should be the happiest day of her life becomes ... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
mammothhawk229e
Mar 28, 2018

Novel deftly tackled race, identity, privilege & family. It more timely as DNA test commercials splashed on network channels.

cgloden May 08, 2012

This was a decent book that kept my attention. It was a little weird though that their baby was so,dark considering what they found out. I don't know much about that to know if it's accurate but it wasn't very believable. Still a good book overall and some good twists towards the end!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at YPRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top