Buried Angels

Buried Angels

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
1
No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller featuring Detective Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. YOU CANNOT CHANGE THE PAST Easter 1974. A family vanishes from their home on an idyllic island off the Swedish coast. They have left everything behind - including their one-year-old daughter, Ebba. Now, years later, Ebba has returned to the island. She and her husband have suffered the loss of their only child and are looking to make a fresh start. But within days, their house is the target of an arson attack. YOU CANNOT ESCAPE THE FUTURE Detective Patrik Hedstrom takes on the investigation, aided by his wife, crime writer Erica Falck, who has always been fascinated by the mystery of Ebba's abandonment and the family's tragic history. When dried blood is found under the floorboards of the old house, it seems that the cold case involving the missing family is about to be brought back to life. And soon, Patrik and Erica are consumed by the hunt for a killer who will stop at nothing to keep the past buried...
Publisher: London, HarperCollinsPublishers,, 2014.
ISBN: 9780007419593
0007419597
9780007507498
Characteristics: 474 pages ; 24 cm.
Additional Contributors: Nunnally, Tiina - Translator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
awc_9
Dec 29, 2015

If you've read the last 3 books in the series, save yourself the trouble. If not, just write down every name you see, or read Lost Boy (7th). If you want really good continuity read Drowning (6th) and/or Hidden Child (5th).

Don't want to hate too much on this or give anything away. The actual story line did get really exciting near the end so that was nice. I also really like the "flashbacks" a lot.

l
Lisina
May 13, 2015

The one doesn't disappoint. A great who-dunnit that keeps you guessing until the very end. I think, one of the better ones in the series.

i
ilovewhippets
Dec 12, 2014

Very good mystery! Hard to put down until the end! Unpredictable! I recommend it!

While the plot could be interesting the writing style is immature, repetitive and boring. The main character is not well developed and the author uses obvious 'tricks' to keep the reader captivated, like not telling us how Ebba's child died ... by the 5th chapter, I no longer cared how the child died. And that birthday card from G was trite. I'll avoid this author in future.

h
h19835195
Jul 29, 2014

One of my absolute favourite Scandinavian authors. This book is another fabulous read. Love the quirky regular characters that develop in each book.

f
finn75
Jul 27, 2014

I love Scandinavian crime fiction and Camilla Lackberg does not dissappoint. I was guessing until the end! As good as any of her others.

j
jazpur
Jul 04, 2014

Most enjoyable. As usual, there's far more to the story than at first meets the eye including links to Nazi Germany. The unsolved disappearance of an entire family with the exception of one little girl, Ebba, is brought back into prominence when she comes back with her husband to live in the house on the island where it all happened and much more besides .

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

a
awc_9
Dec 29, 2015

awc_9 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at YPRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top