The Palace of Curiosities

The Palace of Curiosities

eBook
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:

A luminous and bewitching debut novel that is perfect for fans of Angela Carter. Set in Victorian London, it follows the fortunes of Eve, the Lion-Faced Girl and Abel, the Flayed Man. A magical realism delight.

Before Eve is born, her mother goes to the circus. She buys a penny twist of coloured sugar and settles down to watch the heart-stopping main attraction: a lion, billed as a monster from the savage heart of Africa, forged in the heat of a merciless sun. Mama swears she hears the lion sigh, just before it leaps...and when Eve is born, the story goes, she didn't cry - she meowed and licked her paws.

When Abel is pulled from the stinking Thames, the mudlarks are sure he is long dead. As they search his pockets to divvy up the treasure, his eyes crack open and he coughs up a stream of black water. But how has he survived a week in that thick stew of human waste?

Cast out by Victorian society, Eve and Abel find succour from an unlikely source. They will become The Lion Faced Girl and The Flayed Man, star performers in Professor Josiah Arroner's Palace of Curiosities. And there begins a journey that will entwine their fates forever.

Publisher: Glasgow :, HarperCollins Publishers
Copyright Date: ©2013
ISBN: 9780007492824
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lyla8
May 25, 2015

I loved this book except for a dogfight which I skipped over and a slaughterhouse that i also skipped. otherwise an engaging tale of most unusual people.

rowanquincy Jun 03, 2013

I just couldn't get past the first fifty or so pages of this book. There was so much about cruelty, especially to animals. I usually read the whole book, even if I don't like it much at first, but this one just isn't worth it.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at YPRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top