The Shadow Revolution

The Shadow Revolution

Crown & Key Series, Book 1

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
A thrilling new Victorian-era urban fantasy for fans of Kevin Hearne's Iron Druid Chronicles, the Showtime series Penny Dreadful, and the Sherlock Holmes movies featuring Robert Downey, Jr.

They are the realm's last, best defense against supernatural evil. But they're going to need a lot more silver.

As fog descends, obscuring the gas lamps of Victorian London, werewolves prowl the shadows of back alleys. But they have infiltrated the inner circles of upper-crust society as well. Only a handful of specially gifted practitioners are equipped to battle the beasts. Among them are the roguish Simon Archer, who conceals his powers as a spell-casting scribe behind the smooth veneer of a dashing playboy; his layabout mentor, Nick Barker, who prefers a good pub to thrilling heroics; and the self-possessed alchemist Kate Anstruther, who is equally at home in a ballroom as she is on a battlefield.

After a lycanthrope targets Kate's vulnerable younger sister, the three join forces with fierce Scottish monster-hunter Malcolm MacFarlane--but quickly discover they're dealing with a threat far greater than anything they ever imagined.

Praise for The Shadow Revolution

"Team Griffith creates a number of really compelling characters whose exploits will keep readers glued to the pages! Terrific!" -- RT Book Reviews

"A fast-paced, action-filled dark fantasy that is just sheer fun to read . . . The Shadow Revolution kicks off the Crown & Key series in spectacular fashion!" -- Fresh Fiction

"Werewolves, mad science, and plenty of smiting. Pass the popcorn." --Emma Jane Holloway, author of The Baskerville Affair series

"A thrilling read! Clay and Susan Griffith have crafted a gritty, action-packed Victorian-era fantasy world full of dark creatures, mystery, and magic--a must read for steampunk fans!" --Shawntelle Madison, author of the Coveted series

"What happens when you kick off a new urban fantasy series with a fantastic setting and unique characters, and you throw in some dangerous, supernatural creatures, evil madmen, murder and mayhem? You get a kick-ass book to read. . . . I want more, please!" --Book Swoon

"If summer blockbuster action movies existed back in the Victorian era, they would look a lot like The Shadow Revolution . This book doesn't mess around. . . . Highly recommended." --The BiblioSanctum

"One hell of a read . . . [With] unforgettable characters and magic around every bend, this truly was a breath of fresh air." --My Guilty Obsession

"The story is pretty fast-paced, the mystery intriguing and refreshingly surprising, and the action thrilling. [ The Shadow Revolution ] pulls you in and barely lets you up for air, and I love the intensity of that kind of storytelling." --Refracted Light

"So good that I won't be surprised if this book series is opted to be a TV show or movie with an accompanying video game! Great storytelling, great plot and most of all great book!" --Marienela


From the Paperback edition.
Publisher: New York :, Random House Publishing Group,, 2015.
ISBN: 9780345539519
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Apr 17, 2016

Werewolves stalk the streets of London and it's up to magician Simon Archer to stop them from preying on the city's human population. Complicating the situation is alchemist Kate Anstruther, who has evidence linking the attacks to a conspiracy that could destabilize England. This series opener, the 1st book in a trilogy, continues with The Undying Legion and The Conquering Dark. The novel's action-packed plot, atmospheric setting, and odd-couple protagonists may appeal to fans of Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris' Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences series.

s
sat7
Mar 15, 2016

Solid inspector Holmes style and looks like a great start to a series. Enjoyable.

LPL_FisherA Jul 13, 2015

While reading The Shadow Revolution, I couldn’t help but think of it as an amalgamation of the world and characters of Penny Dreadful with the magic system of Fullmetal Alchemist - which is part of what made me love this book so much. When a playboy scribe named Simon Archer and his tutor Nick Barker encounter a rogue werewolf on a foggy and atmospheric evening in London, their fates become irrevocably intertwined with a gifted alchemist named Kate Anstruther and the fearsome, Scottish monster hunter Malcolm MacFarlane as they must all work together to find Kate’s sister who has been mysteriously kidnapped by werewolves. It is a relentless, fast-paced, Victorian adventure that is full of magic, mysticism, alchemy, mad science experiments, and some of the most vicious, bloodthirsty werewolves I have read about to date. Although the story leaves minimal room for character development, especially considering how the characters barely have room to breathe between their encounters with the supernatural, I still found myself completely enamored with, engrossed in, and intrigued by this unlikely group of heroes. I cannot wait to learn more about these characters, their pasts, and how they are all connected in the next book in the series. This series is the Doritos of the Urban Fantasy world - I promise you won’t be able to read just one.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at YPRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top