Lost & Found

Lost & Found

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
8
1
Rate this:
An irresistible debut novel about the wisdom of the very young, the mischief of the very old, and the magic that happens when no one else is looking
Millie Bird, seven years old and ever hopeful, always wears red gumboots to match her curly hair. Her struggling mother, grieving the death of Millie's father, leaves her in the big ladies' underwear department of a local store and never returns.
Agatha Pantha, eighty-two, has not left her house--or spoken to another human being--since she was widowed seven years ago. She fills the silence by yelling at passersby, watching loud static on TV, and maintaining a strict daily schedule.
Karl the Touch Typist, eighty-seven, once used his fingers to type out love notes on his wife's skin. Now that she's gone, he types his words out into the air as he speaks. Karl's been committed to a nursing home, but in a moment of clarity and joy, he escapes. Now he's on the lam.
Brought together at a fateful moment, the three embark upon a road trip across Western Australia to find Millie's mother. Along the way, Karl wants to find out how to be a man again; Agatha just wants everything to go back to how it was.
Together they will discover that old age is not the same as death, that the young can be wise, and that letting yourself feel sad once in a while just might be the key to a happy life.
Publisher: Sydney, N.S.W., Hachette Australia,, 2014.
ISBN: 9780733632754
Characteristics: 280 pages ; 24 cm.
Alternative Title: Lost and found

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
cherstaite
Apr 19, 2017

I enjoyed it very much. Just the right amount of fantasy. Charming in it's depiction of the elderly and the very young as having significant depth of feelings. For once, a book that's not all about the 'me' generation but those that came before them and those to follow

VaughanPLTracyMat Nov 10, 2016

This was a delightful read! Millie is a seven year old girl who is abandoned by her mother, and although she is someone I felt truly sorry for, I also felt empowered by her determination to find her mother. Also, Agatha and Karl the Touch Typist are two quirky characters that lighten the story’s tone, especially when they interact with each other and with Millie. Reading about this trio’s journey was certainly entertaining!

endora Sep 29, 2016

This is a totally implausible, yet delightfully ridiculous story of three people coming together in grief, who take care of each other. At times quite hilarious and I really enjoyed how quirky this book is. I will look out for future publications from this author for sure.

p
PurBar
Dec 12, 2015

We think old people will be happier if they are not angry. We think the missing bit of finger no longer is missed. We think a child should not focus on death. We think a deep love of a parent is the best kind of love for a child to receive. Then we read this book, find out we are wrong, and we feel glad.

multcolib_darceem Jun 06, 2015

Quirk alert: Millie, a precocious 7 year old obsessed with dead things, an elderly widower with an air typing tic and an embittered shut-in who yells out people's shortcomings from her kitchen window, come together for a road trip to find Millie's mom. I liked the alternating view points and format of this story. There were just enough authentically hilarious moments to keep it from getting too precious, plus some really thoughtful multi-generational ruminations on grief. This could be a good read for fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette or The Rosie Project.

r
robinredoak
May 12, 2015

Over rated & affected this author's repetitious stream of consciousness style drags on page after page like a spent road-train.

w
wissa
Jan 04, 2015

Loved this book and am eagerly awaiting more from this author. A book you want to read straight thru, it tugs at your heart, makes you double think our attitudes to others who are 'too' :old /young /useless /different... Saw her on Australian Story too.

c
Cas22
Nov 27, 2014

This book is a real gem - funny, insightful and moving all at the same time. At first glance, the cover design, writing style, eccentric characters and slapstick storyline suggest a children's book. However, this is just a clever device to explore the deeper issue of loss, not just of loved ones through death and abandonment, but also loss of beauty, vitality, identity and meaning through ageing. As the story unfolds, and the characters go on a road trip in search of Millie's Mum, they find wiser, stronger, happier selves. Highly recommended - to those who are not too literally minded.

Quotes

Add a Quote

quagga Jul 08, 2016

The dash between his birth year and his death year didn't seem big enough for a whole life.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...
YPRL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top