The Book of Souls

The Book of Souls

eBook - 2012
Average Rating:
3
1
Rate this:
Every year for ten years, a young woman's body was found in Edinburgh at Christmas time: naked, throat slit, body washed clean. Ten years, ten women. The final victim, Kirsty Summers, was Detective Constable Tony McLean's fianc�e. But the Christmas Killer made a mistake. In a cellar under a shop, McLean found a torture chamber and put an end to the brutal killing spree. Twelve years later, and a fellow prisoner has just murdered the incarcerated Christmas Killer. But with the arrival of the festive season comes a body. A young woman: naked, washed, her throat cut. Is this a copycat killer? Was the wrong man behind bars all this time? Or is there a more sinister, frightening explanation? McLean must revisit the most disturbing case of his life and discover what he missed before the killer strikes again . . . The Book of Souls is the second in the Detective Inspector Mclean series. The first was Natural Causes and the upcoming third will be called The Hangman's Song. Fans of Ian Rankin, Peter James and Stuart McBride will love James Oswald's work. Praise for James Oswald: 'A star of Scotland's burgeoning crime fiction scene' Daily Record 'Crime fiction's next big thing' The Sunday Telegraph 'Literary sensation...James' overnight success has drawn comparisons with the meteoric rise of EL James and her Fifty Shades of Grey series' Daily Mail 'Fifty Shades of Hay' The Times 'Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers' Daily Mail 'The new Ian Rankin' Daily Record 'The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish' The Herald 'A good read' The Times 'An excellent start to what promises to be a fine series' Guardia
Publisher: [Harmondsworth] : Penguin, 2012.
ISBN: 9781405913171
1405913177

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

2
22222013434661
Aug 08, 2014

This is the third book I have read in this series. I had such hope at the beginning but his central character seems to be making no change. He is a very disfunctional guy and I don't see how he could be effective in his job if he doesn't get with the program. Or maybe I am just not finding him engaging after 3 books.

l
LoveChild60
Jul 26, 2014

I'd never read this author before and I'm still not quite sure why I stayed with it. It was slow at the start, but somewhat picked up. I think for me, It was more of wanting to know WHO was doing it (again). Alot of chapters, but short ones. By the 57th chapter, I knew had done the murders. It wasn't a "page turner" for me, but I guess maybe just because i already had so much time invested in reading it, I decided I may as well see it thru. I HATED "Dagwood" with a passion!!! I don't know if this story is part of a series, but the ending was a bit untold. It's just hard to find the right words to describe the authors writings. Glad to have read it tho.

s
Sansha
Mar 08, 2014

First book I have read by this author, I really enjoyed it. Three crimes on the go, one a serial killer plus the politics of the police station all make for interesting reading.

Summary

Add a Summary

s
susansocks
Sep 07, 2015

Set in modern-day Edinburgh, a detective inspector is haunted by the crimes of a serial killer and faced with the specter of another one, a copy-cat.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at YPRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top