Good as Gone

Good as Gone

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
10
Rate this:
"Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic--but Anna, Julie's mother, has whispers of doubts. She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter. Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages"--
Publisher: Boston :, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt,, 2016.
ISBN: 9780008203153
Characteristics: text file,rda
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

b
bbinder327
Aug 09, 2017

I found this book to be extremely confusing. I found it on a must-read list, but wasn't impressed. It wasn't a book that I couldn't put down, unfortunately.

j
jms66223
Jul 21, 2017

I picked this up since it was on a "must read" list. I was terribly disappointed. The beginning had me hooked but it got so confusing with all the back and forth narrators that I didn't care to read it much longer. I wanted to find out what happened but it was painful to get through. Not a great read at all.

debwalker Apr 30, 2017

Shades of Elizabeth Smart. That's all I'm saying. Hollywood should be snapping up the film rights. A compulsive read.

t
tima2010
Apr 30, 2017

This book was terrible and super hard to follow.

p
PaulaSuzanneLee
Apr 06, 2017

Along the lines of Gone Girl-but a little more confusing. Really liked the book, but didn't wrap up as neatly as I expected.

l
LaFilm
Mar 06, 2017

Written in the same vein as "Gone Girl" but with much more bouncing around of storylines. Very confusing. Ending was extremely disappointing and felt rushed.

w
william13oliver15
Jan 22, 2017

Found this to be an effort to get through basic storyline was ok. It just wasn't gripping enough.

r
ralwal
Nov 27, 2016

At first I thought it was going to be good, but got rather convoluted to the point where I didn't care.

s
stephaniedchase
Nov 15, 2016

Now that's twisty! No, it's nothing like GONE GIRL or GIRL ON THE TRAIN, unless you count "female protagonist." And no, it's not as well-developed. But GOOD AS GONE does deliver on interesting characters, a complex family story, and just enough to keep you guessing, even when you've figured out the twists.

s
smmeloche
Nov 09, 2016

For more reviews, visit Clues and Reviews
https://cluesandreviews.wordpress.com/

Good As Gone, the debut novel by Amy Gentry, is labeled as “a novel of suspense”. I didn’t necessarily find this novel to be the twisty, suspense-filled story that I was expecting but instead found it to be an extremely gripping, shocking and an intense psychological thriller. I really need marketers to stop using the “For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train” nuance. This book doesn’t need it. It can stand completely on its own- and does this book stand!
Julie, a thirteen-year-old girl, is kidnapped (at knifepoint) while her sister, Jane, helplessly watches from the closet. The family is shattered but never gives up hope that their daughter could potentially come back to them. Eight years later, the doorbell rings. It’s a young woman, seemingly Julie, finally home safe. Julie’s mother, Anna, is overjoyed; soon after, she starts getting a feeling that something isn’t right. She hires a private investigator and is soon deeply involved in figuring out what happened to her daughter- and if this woman is truly her daughter or an imposter.
Gentry is able to captivate her audience from the first page as she builds up the story and weaves together a plot that is completely shocking. This novel was completely fast paced and addicting. I could not put it down. I loved the disjointed writing style; it added to the ambiance of the tale.
I absolutely LOVED the way this book was narrated. It was actually one of my favourite parts of the novel. Chapters are alternated between Anna’s first-person perspective as she tries to come to terms with what is happening and find out the truth about her daughter. The alternating perspective is from various women told in the third-person. Told backward and forward in time, this narrative style had me constantly guessing. Are they the same woman? Do they have a connection? This guessing game had me hooked.
The ending was fantastic. It is not often that I am pleased with the way a book ends; I usually have something to say. Not with this one. I loved the twist. I loved the explanation.
This book is an absolute must-read. Stop what you are doing. Pick up this book.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at YPRL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top