The Outcasts of Time

The Outcasts of Time

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
'Beautifully written and superbly executed' Times
From the author of the bestselling The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain , this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse.

December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last.

John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived.

As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up?
Publisher: London, Simon & Schuster Ltd,, 2017.
Copyright Date: ©2017
ISBN: 9781471146565
9781471146558
Characteristics: viii, 383 pages : map ; 25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jrn520
Sep 07, 2018

Really inventive premise with a resolution that resonates with humanist and religious people, both.

p
pdyon54
Aug 13, 2018

Loved the story. Historical accuracy was superb. Nice plot twists. Highly recommend this book!

m
moviefan01
Feb 22, 2018

Loved this trippy time travel novel! Two brothers escape sure death--by bubonic plague, no less!--and manage to keep skipping ahead 99 years every time they wake up to a new "day." Well written, with some very evocative imagery, the only plot oversight here is that the narrator starts in 1348 and ends in the Blitz of WWII era Britain, but manages to understand modern English, and be understood by others.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...
YPRL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top